Center for the Humanities Executive Committee adds three new members

The Center for the Humanities welcomes three new members to its executive committee for the 2022-23 academic year. All three are past Faculty Fellows in the center and have been actively involved in its Divided City and/or Redefining Doctoral Education in the Humanities (RDE) initiatives. Their three-year terms will conclude in 2025.

Joining the executive committee are: 

  • Diana Montaño, assistant professor of history; 
  • Casey O’Callaghan, professor of philosophy; and 
  • Jessica Rosenfeld, associate professor of English.
New additions to the humanities center executive committee (left to right): Diana Montaño. assistant professor of history; Casey O’Callaghan, professor of philosophy; and Jessica Rosenfeld, associate professor of English.

The Center for the Humanities Executive Committee is comprised of nine tenure-track and tenured faculty members from across the humanities, who serve in an advisory capacity to the center’s director, providing expertise, counsel and ideas for the development of the center. Members also constitute the selection committees for grants, fellowships and internal competitions administered by the center. Committee members are appointed to three-year terms by the director; at the end of each academic year, three members rotate off and three rotate on. 

Cycling off the committee this spring are Matt Erlin, professor of German; Melanie Micir, associate professor of English; and Zoe Stamatopoulou, associate professor of classics. During their term, the executive committee helped to develop a new nomination process for the Washington University International Humanities Prize, given by the Center for the Humanities, and advised the director and acting director during the tumultuous early days of the COVID-19 pandemic, in addition to reviewing dozens of grant and fellowship applications.

Continuing on the committee are Joanna Dee Das, assistant professor of dance; Danielle Dutton, associate professor of creative writing; and Corinna Treitel, professor of history (through 2023); and Patrick Burke, associate professor of music; Jonathan Fenderson, associate professor of African and African-American studies; and Ila Sheren, associate professor of art history and archaeology (through 2024).